Are We There Yet? 5 August Releases I'm Ready For

It's a good year to be a young adult fan!
There are SO many good YA books coming out in the Summer of 2015, y'all!
Today I'm sharing my most anticipated August releases. See my June post here and July post here!
Get ready to pile more books on those TBR lists!

5. Not After Everything by Michelle Levy
A gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens— great for fans of The Spectacular Now, Willow, and Eleanor and Park

Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go. Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn’t (money). Tyler finds a job that crashes him into Jordyn, his former childhood friend turned angry-loner goth-girl. She brings Tyler an unexpected reprieve from the never-ending pity party his life has become. How could he not fall for her? But with his dad more brutally unpredictable than ever, Tyler knows he can’t risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into the chaos. So when violence rocks his world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it in himself?
This one sounds like a heartbreakingly powerful book. Even though I know I'll cry my eyes out, I want to read about Tyler. This will be my intense read of August!

4. The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak
Stella never meant to fall for a rock star…much less a Heartbreaker.

When Stella's sister Cara is diagnosed with leukemia, Stella puts her dreams on hold to move home and be with her family. With Cara's birthday approaching, Stella wants to get her the perfect gift—an autographed poster of her sister's favorite (and Stella's least favorite) band, The Heartbreakers. But when she meets Oliver Perry, the band's lead singer, she can't get him out of her head.

If she gives him a chance, will she resent him for taking her attention away from her sister—or will he help her find the courage to live her own life?
Cute romance involving a boy in a band? Yes! I'm wondering how this book will handle Cara having leukemia. There are so many ways that this book could go. I need it now!

3. Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell
Nicolette’s awful stepsisters call her “Mechanica” to demean her, but the nickname fits: she learned to be an inventor at her mother’s knee. Her mom is gone now, though, and the Steps have turned her into a servant in her own home.

But on her sixteenth birthday, Nicolette discovers a secret workshop in the cellar and begins to dare to imagine a new life for herself. Could the mysterious books and tools hidden there—and the mechanical menagerie, led by a tiny metal horse named Jules—be the key to escaping her dreary existence? With a technological exposition and royal ball on the horizon, the timing might just be perfect for Nicolette to earn her freedom at last.

Gorgeous prose and themes of social justice and family shine in this richly imagined Cinderella retelling about an indomitable inventor who finds her prince . . . but realizes she doesn't want a fairy tale happy ending after all.
Cinderella and steampunk? Why, yes I do believe I will. Too many people are comparing it to Cinder by Marissa Meyer. They sound nothing alike, y'all. But I will say I've yet to read either book, and Mechanica sounds much better than Cinder. I should probably hide from the fangirls now.

2. The Uninvited by Cat Winters
Twenty-five year old Ivy Rowan rises from her bed after being struck by the flu, only to discover the world has been torn apart in just a few short days.

But Ivy’s life-long gift—or curse—remains. For she sees the uninvited ones—ghosts of loved ones who appear to her, unasked, unwelcomed, for they always herald impending death. On that October evening in 1918 she sees the spirit of her grandmother, rocking in her mother’s chair. An hour later, she learns her younger brother and father have killed a young German out of retaliation for the death of Ivy’s older brother Billy in the Great War.

Horrified, she leaves home, to discover the flu has caused utter panic and the rules governing society have broken down. Ivy is drawn into this new world of jazz, passion, and freedom, where people live for the day, because they could be stricken by nightfall. But as her ‘uninvited guests’ begin to appear to her more often, she knows her life will be torn apart once more, but Ivy has no inkling of the other-worldly revelations about to unfold.
Cat Winters can do no wrong in my book. She's one of the few (maybe four at most) authors that are always instant buys for me. This book just screams Gothic and ghosts; sign me up! 

1. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.
 The Boy Most Likely To is one of my two most anticipated reads of 2015, y'all! I fell in love with My Life Next Door, and I seriously cannot wait for this book. I'm so excited to get close to Alice and Tim. Alice was one of my favorites from the first book. I am so ready!!!

Are you guys excited for August's YA releases?
Who's ready to spend the summer reading with me?!

1 comment:

  1. Mechanica sounds really interesting, the cover is awesome as well. There is hype about it, so I do hope it lives upto it's expectations :) Great post. <3Benish | Feminist Reflections


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...